Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
2009-04-21, 10:34 p.m.

~~042109~~

Mood: Sore

Sunday I worked in CapCity. That was fun. My throat was very sore, but I thought nothing of it. We beat Park City in $$, which was amusing to me because David was working...Thus proving that I am superior. CapCity is much lower volume.. but.. chya. Anyway. So I thought I was getting sick. Sure enough, Monday morning, I am congested with a fever. It was raining so Eric had off work. He dragged me out of bed around 11 to go couch shopping with his Mom. I had an anticipated lunch date around 2ish, but that fell through with illness and close family-friend death. ((I will elaborate later.)) Eric and I searched for couches at Wolf Furniture and the Roomstore. We decided on a sectional for 2100$ at Wolf's, but upon measuring realized it would take up all of our free space. We then found a few couches at Roomstore. Eric's Mom, Kathy, decided she didn't want to shop anymore, and gave Eric a very unexpected gift of 2000$. I think we've found a couch/chaise set for $900, which leaves Eric with some extra cash to pay off school loans, or whatever. I'm excited.

Today was lax. I went to work for an opening shift, and opted to leave at 2 and just use some sick time. I stopped at the grocery store, and went home to make dinner for Eric and myself. After dinner, we went climbing. And DAMN, am I sore. We haven't been in a week + still being half sick. 2 hours, and I was wrecked. I was top roping a little bit, and the endurance just wasn't there. Tomorrow is a closing shift, so I have some time to rest.

Last Thursday, Mr. Lewis died. He was my Dad's first, and longest, customer with the shop. Ralph restored 6 of his antique cars, including the Alpha Romeo 6c Spyder from 1928 (my personal favorite, also most recent). Mr. Lewis was like a grandfather to me. I spent time with him on a somewhat regular basis. We went to car classics with him (which was essentially vacations for me). He frequently bought me little nic nacs (like my Buick lock cover from the Packard meet in Chicago. I was probably 6..). He introduced me to fine dining and my love of culinary art, which I never would have seen given my parent's income. He sent us a ham every Christmas that ended up being my lunches for the next month and a half. I hadn't seen him nearly as much since Ralph was bought out of the family business. When Dad told me he died, I was speechless. I was never even told that he had a brain tumor. It's been almost a week, and I'm still choked up...

Since we moved on the 14th, I've been on a weird rollercoaster of emotions and physical tolerance. Hopefully things calm down, soon.

Jess Chance in 10 days.
Bonnaroo in 1 1/2 months.
Warped Tour KAB tent in 2 months.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
Free Hit Counters
Tan Through Swimwear